Press "Enter" to skip to content




LOS ANGELES, CA – Academy governor Jeffrey Kurland, event producer Cheryl
Cecchetto and master chef Wolfgang Puck will return to create this year’s
Governors Ball, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ official
post-Oscar® celebration, which will immediately follow the 87th Oscars® ceremony
on Sunday, February 22.  The Ball’s 1,500 invited guests include Oscar winners
and nominees, show presenters and other telecast participants.

“The artistry and glamour that have truly defined Hollywood for decades will
be highlighted at 87th Oscars Governors Ball,” said Kurland.  “We’ve selected
the most stunning imagery from the Academy’s vast collections to set the stage
for our guests.  The Academy will honor and share these timeless moments of a
legacy that is in our blood and truly makes us who we are.”

As the chair of the Governors Ball, Kurland will oversee the décor, menu and
entertainment planning, as well as design the attire to be worn by the evening’s
staff.  Kurland is an acclaimed costume designer whose feature credits include
“Hannah and Her Sisters,” “Radio Days,” “Crimes and Misdemeanors,” “Erin
Brockovich,” “Ocean’s Eleven,” “Inception,” “Beautiful Creatures” and the
upcoming “Tomorrowland.”  He received an Oscar nomination for Costume Design for
“Bullets over Broadway.”  This will be Kurland’s sixth year serving as Governors
Ball chair.

Cecchetto, along with her Sequoia Productions team, will work with Kurland to
manage every detail pertaining to the event, including décor, entertainment,
food and personnel.  Sequoia Productions’ clients include the Television
Academy, G’Day USA, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, Westfield and the UCSF
Medical Center at Mission Bay.  This will be Cecchetto’s 26th consecutive year
producing the Governors Ball.

Master chef Wolfgang Puck and Matt Bencivenga, chef partner of Wolfgang Puck
Catering, have drawn upon vintage and contemporary Hollywood glamour to create a
menu that’s both legendary and innovative.  The menu will feature more than 50
imaginative dishes, from one-bite hors d’oeuvres to small-plate entrees that
will be passed throughout the evening.  Guests will enjoy such signature Puck
favorites as smoked salmon Oscars, chicken pot pie with shaved black truffles,
and mini American Wagyu burgers with aged Cheddar. Puck also will present
classic dishes re-imagined for Hollywood’s big night, including lobster “BLT”;
beet latkes with pastrami duck and apple mustard; and dover sole with orange
miso vinaigrette.  Appealing to diverse palates will be modern vegetarian dishes
featuring local organic produce, such as parsnip soup with white chocolate,
pears and 24k gold; and artichokes with asparagus, fava beans, baby beets and
citrus vinaigrette.  This year’s dynamic pastry team includes Della Gossett,
Spago’s executive pastry chef; Kamel Guechida, corporate director of pastry for
the Wolfgang Puck Fine Dining Group; and Jason Lemonnier, Los Angeles pastry
chef for Wolfgang Puck Catering.  Together these chefs will create such
innovative and elegant seasonal desserts as apple millefeuille with cider jelly,
peanut butter strawberry lollipop, and milk chocolate panna cotta with raspberry
and cherry, as well as Puck’s traditional 24k gold chocolate Oscars.  CEO Carl
Schuster directs more than 900 event staff through the detailed logistics and
hospitality experience. This is Puck’s 21st consecutive year creating the menu
for the Governors Ball.

The Governors Ball will take place in the Ray Dolby Ballroom on the top level
of the Hollywood & Highland Center® immediately following the Oscar

The 87th Oscars will be held on Sunday, February 22, 2015, at the Dolby
Theatre® at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood, and will be televised
live on the ABC Television Network at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.  The Oscars, produced
by Craig Zadan and Neil Meron, also will be televised live in more than 225
countries and territories worldwide.

# # #

87th Oscars Social Media Guide
Follow the Academy, Oscars
producers and host Neil Patrick Harris for the latest updates throughout Oscar

Neil Patrick Harris:


Neil Meron:
Craig Zadan:



The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and
Sciences is the world’s preeminent movie-related organization, with a membership
of more than 6,000 of the most accomplished men and women working in cinema. In
addition to the annual Academy Awards—in which the members vote to select the
nominees and winners — the Academy presents a diverse year-round slate of public
programs, exhibitions and events; acts as a neutral advocate in the advancement
of motion picture technology; and, through its Margaret Herrick Library and
Academy Film Archive, collects, preserves, restores and provides access to
movies and items related to their history. Through these and other activities
the Academy serves students, historians, the entertainment industry and people
everywhere who love movies.


Breaking News: